The teaching of indigenous languages in Nigerian schools has continued to pose serious challenges to  Nigerian students today as Parents have a tendency to measure their children’s academic performances through the use of the English language.

Nigeria has 520 languages and three are recognised as Official languages of the Consitution of Nigeria; Hausa, Igbo, and Yoruba.  The Federal Republic of Nigeria’s National Policy on Education, NPE, states a student must study two languages, namely his mother-tongue or indigenous language, if available for study, or any other indigenous language of wider communication in his area of domicile,  and the English language.

In Abuja the official indigenous language of the area of domicile is Hausa. Therefore, the children are taught Hausa as part of the curriculum.